<< Home  |Last Updated: 28-MAY-2015|  Free Consultation

Principles of Ayurveda

The principles of Ayurveda are based on the concept of tridosha. The three doshas are Vata (wind), Pitta (bile) and Kapha (mucus) these represent respectively the air, fire and water.

Each dosha plays its own part in the maintenance of human body.

In all the humans, doshas control all mental, emotional, and physical functions and responses. It also determine the state of the soul. They produce natural urges and individual preferences in food. They maintain the destruction of body tissue and eliminate waste products.

Each human has its own prakriti (essential nature).Each humanís prakriti describes the unique harmony or balance between the doshas that is necessary for that human to feel perfect health.

These three doshas produces various temperaments and physical types, depending on their proportion in a person. Some person are clearly dominated by one of the three doshas, while others may be affected by various combinations of these doshas as follows -->

    1. Vata (wind) affected individuals

    2. Pitta (bile) affected individuals

    3. Kapha (mucus) affected individuals

    4. Vata (wind) and Pitta (bile) affected individuals

    5. Vata (wind) and Kapha (mucus) affected individuals

    6. Pitta (bile) and Kapha (mucus) affected individuals

    7. Vata (wind), Pitta (bile) and Kapha (mucus) affected individuals

From the view of Ayurveda , an disequilibrium between the doshas produces a condition called vikriti, vikriti is a Sanskrit word that means " diverted from nature." Vikriti results from an dominanting of one or two doshas or combination of doshas. This disequilibrium can be caused by eating the improper foods, prolonged mental stress, physical overexertion, negative emotions, or short sleeping habits, and this will eventually lead to the development of disease, obesity , mental disorders. As a result, to prevent these, each person must keep the doshas in, or restore them to, their proper balance.